Counter Action: Pomegranate applesauce

DSCF3992

Day 2 of NaNoWriMo! How are we doing? Everyone hale and hearty?

And hey, how about that extra hour this morning? Did you put it to good purpose? Did you rise an hour early and greet the wan winter dawn with a Sun Salutation atop a mountain?

I sure didn’t. I used that hour to sleep. Now, apart from this cold I’m nursing, I feel fantastic. Thanks, Ben Franklin.

DSCF4003

All week long I’ve had three Gala apples sitting on my counter, perfectly ripe but still a little soft for eating straight. I meant to turn them into Smitten Kitchen’s apple–honey challah this weekend, but then I got sick and felt more like lounging around drinking tea than wrestling with several pounds of dough. To compromise, I wrestled with a pomegranate instead and made this applesauce. It’s pleasantly pink with a gentle tangy sweetness from the pomegranate arils. I like it solo or on oatmeal, but it would also be lovely warm on pancakes or waffles.

DSCF4020

Pomegranate applesauce

Ingredients:

  • 5–6 apples (I used three Gala and two Honeycrisp)
  • 1/2 c. pomegranate arils (or if you’re in a rush, substitute 1/4 c. pomegranate juice)
  • 2 tsp. honey (I used blackberry blossom; feel free to go milder or stronger)

Directions:

  1. Peel, core, and dice the apples. Place in a stockpot with the pomegranate arils and honey. Depending on your pot’s size, fill about halfway with water — you want the fruit to be floating about four inches from the burner.
  2. Simmer for about 30 minutes with the lid on, then about 30 minutes with the lid off. You’re aiming for the apples to be cooked and most of the liquid to evaporate. Add water as needed to keep the sauce from scorching.
  3. Feel free to eat as is. If you’re like me and prefer to get rid of the crunchy little pomegranate seeds, put the mixture through a ricer before eating.
  4. Makes about three cups of applesauce. Eat immediately or keep in the fridge for 5–6 days.

 

Leave a Reply

